1981 Dick Johnson and Peter Brock Lakeside 'Racer' Limited Edtion Print Signed by Dick Johson

1981 Dick Johnson and Peter Brock Lakeside ‘Racer’ Limited Edtion Print Signed by Dick Johson

This print comes framed (51 x 40 cm)

Available to ship from 1st April 2022.

Price :

$150.00 Inc. GST

2 in stock


The lakeside circuit hosted championship deciders in 1975, 1981 and 1983. The 1981 decider was notable for a famous race-long duel between local driver Dick Johnson’s ailing Ford XD Falcon and Peter Brock’s Holden VC Commodore. Lakeside Park hosted the final in Johnson’s home state, Queensland. Brock, from Victoria, was well and indeed outnumbered on the embankments by Johnson fans. The race and the title looked like it would go the way of Johnson, who stretched his legs on Brock in the early goings. Then suddenly, as Dick recalls, the front sway bar broke. Johnson prevailed and won the first of his five championships in one of the greatest races in championship history.

The significance of a Queenslander winning the title wasn’t lost on the fans. Some 40,000 spectators had piled into the venue, sporting the Tru-Blue colours, to see a new local champion hopefully.

Dick Johnson is an icon and legend of Australian Motorsport. His racing career started in 1964, and winning came naturally, taking victory in his second ever race. He rose to prominence throughout the 1970s before exploding into the national consciousness at the 1980 Bathurst 1000, when he hit the infamous rock whilst in the lead of the ‘Great Race’.

The resultant response from the Australian public is now folklore, catapulting Dick and his fledgling team to the front of the pack for years to come. He would become one of Australia’s most loved sporting characters, winning three Bathurst 1000 titles and five Australian Touring Car Championships in a career that lasted more than 30 years.

After he retired from driving in 1999, Dick continued as the figurehead of Dick Johnson Racing, culminating in another Championship in 2010 for the prestigious organisation, the seventh for the team.

In late 2014, Johnson joined forces with Roger Penske to create DJR Team Penske, and together they returned the team to the top. Between 2015 and 2020, they won three Teams’ Championships and three back-to-back Drivers’ Championships with Scott McLaughlin. In 2021, the team entered a new era, continuing as Dick Johnson Racing and with two new drivers joining the stable.

Free shipping

On Orders Over $120

Save up to 20%

Become a Team Mate!

Recently Viewed Products