The V8 Championship Series Begins

The first round of the V8 Championship was held at Amaroo Park, with John Bowe taking victory in the Shell Falcon. But the sweet smell of success didn’t last long, with DJR failing to take another victory until the following season.

The wait proved to be well worth it, with Johnson and Bowe claiming both 1994 endurance races at Sandown and Bathurst.

DJR headed into 1995 brimming with confidence and it was not misplaced, with Bowe taking his first ATCC crown after a dominant display in the final round of the championship at Oran Park.

A repeat victory at Sandown that year augured well for another Bathurst win until an incident with Glenn Seton forced the number 17 Falcon from the lead, and subsequently, the track.

While Holden dominated the 1996 season, DJR still managed to pick up wins at the Indycar GP and was the first Ford home at Bathurst when Johnson and Bowe crossed the line in second place.

While 1997 was not a fantastic year compared to previous seasons, consistency enabled Bowe to claim the runner-up position in the championship. The team did not fare better in the end of year endurance races with the Johnson/Bowe car failing to finish both races while the team’s second car, driven by Steven Johnson and Craig Baird, could only manage seventh at Sandown and fourth in the Primus 1000 at Bathurst.

1998 saw Johnson and Bowe team up for yet another season, and Bowe did all the celebrating, securing pole position in the opening round of the series and again at the team’s home track, Lakeside. The first win of the season came at Winton, but unfortunately for the team it was all down hill from there.